Equality awards for five departments

athena-swan-bronzeFive departments in the Faculty of Science have earned major awards for their work on gender equality.

Biomedical Science, Chemistry, Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, Physics and Astronomy, and the School of Mathematics and Statistics are among eight University of Sheffield departments recognised by Athena SWAN today.

The five in science have been given Bronze Awards by the organisation, which monitors academic institutions to ensure that their employment practices further and support the careers of women in science and related subjects.

If follows last year’s news that the Department of Animal and Plant Sciences had earned a Silver Award, while the University as a whole achieved Bronze.

Professor Jane Grasby, Chair of the Faculty of Science Equality Diversity Committee, said: “We are very proud that Athena SWAN has recognised that the departments across our Faculty support and provide an inclusive environment where our female staff and students can flourish.

“We look forward to continuing work in this area and to attracting more of the best female staff and students here. We believe that undertaking the Athena SWAN process, and the changes we are making as a consequence, will benefit both male and female staff. 

The latest awards coincide with the publication of a report which shows that the Athena SWAN scheme advances gender equality, and changes the working culture and attitude in participating departments and universities.

Pick up the story on the University staff news website

Find out more on the Athena SWAN website

Equality and Diversity in the Faculty of Science